NPP delegation led by its chief Conrad K Sangma meeting BJP chief JP Nadda in New Delhi Credit: File image

Imphal: Amid the new political development in Manipur, four National People’s Party (NPP) MLAs, including deputy chief minister Y Joykumar Singh and state unit interim president N Kayisii, on Saturday left for Guwahati in Assam.

As per sources, the four elected legislators in Manipur will hold a meeting with party chief and Meghalaya chief minister Conrad K Sangma and accordingly decide whether the NPP will continue to support the BJP-led coalition government in the state.

Whatever decision is taken will be in the party’s interest, said the sources.

Besides the Naga People’s Front (NPF), NPP is a major coalition partner in the N Biren Singh-led government in Manipur with four elected MLAs.

On Thursday, chief minister N Biren Singh dropped six ministers, including three from the BJP, from the Council of Ministers and inducted five new faces in the cabinet. Former health minister L Jayantakumar Singh and tribal affairs minister N Kayisii of NPP were among the six ministers removed from Singh’s ministry.

Also Read: Manipur: Massive protests in Kangpokpi over recent Cabinet reshuffle

Over the last few months, the ties between the two parties remained sour when the four NPP MLAs walked out of the N Biren Singh-led coalition government in the state, pushing the ruling BJP in the minority.

With the latest stripping of NPP from two ministerial berths in the recent major cabinet reshuffle, chances are running high of the party withdrawing support to BJP for the second time in Manipur. However, NPP president Sangma remained tight-lipped in this regard till the time of filing this report.

Also Read: Manipur: 5 MLAs, including Ibobi Singh’s nephew, sworn in as ministers

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment