The Lok Sabha members were tested at the Parliament House on September 13 and 14

According to reports as many 25 member of the Parliament has tested positive for COVID-19 ahead of the Monsoon session of the Parliament which resumed on Monday

Sources have also confirmed that BJP has the most infected number of MPs at 12 among the ones tested, Congress has two MPs, the Shiv Sena, DMK, RLP have one each from the Lok Sabha.

The tests for the Lok Sabha members were reportedly carried out at the Parliament House on September 13 and 14.

Reports also suggest that a total of 56 people tested positive during RT-PCR tests conducted in the parliament building complex. It includes officials, media persons and MPs of both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.

Meenaksi Lekhi (BJP), Anant Kumar Hegde (BJP), Parvesh Sahib Singh (BJP), Hanuman Beniwal (RLP), Sukanta Majumdar (BJP), Goddeti Madhavi (YRSC), Pratap Rao Jadav (Shiv Sena), Janardan Singh (BJP), Bidyut Baran (BJP), Pradan Baruah (BJP), N Redeppa (YRSC), Selvam G (DMK), Pratap Rao Patil (BJP), Ram Shankar Katheria (BJP), Satya Pal Singh (BJP), Rodmal Nagar (BJP) are the seventeen members of the Lok Sabha contracted the highly infectious virus.

The BJP MP Sukanta Majumdar was one of the first who to notify about positive status, he tweeted on Saturday, “Requesting all those who have come in close contact with me in the last few days to monitor their health and get tested in case of any symptoms,” his tweet read.According to reports, twenty-five members of Parliament have been tested positive for COVID-19 in the mandatory tests conducted before the monsoon session of the Parliament began on Monday. Seventeen members of Lok Sabha and eight members of Rajya Sabha have reportedly tested positive for coronavirus.

Also Read: Ex-JNU student Umar Khalid arrested in Delhi riot case

Also Read: No data on migrant deaths during lockdown, centre tells Parliament

The first day of the monsoon session was attended by 359 member, out of which nearly 200 were present in the chamber of the Lok Sabha and about 30 were seated in the visitors’ gallery which is situated above the main chamber.

With the Lok Sabha being held in the morning shift and Rajya Sabha in the afternoon, members of both the houses were spread across the two chambers and galleries.

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment