The French translation of the book Fuir et Revenir, done by Benoîte Dauvergne is selected for the prestigious award Credit: EastMojo image

Indian author Prajwal Parajuly’s book “Land where I Flee” is now nominated for France’s First Novel Prize. The French translation of the book Fuir et Revenir, done by Benoîte Dauvergne is selected for the prestigious award.

This is just two weeks after his bestselling novel “Land Where I Flee” made the long list of the Emile Guimet Prize. Also on the list is Man Booker International Prize winner Marieke Lucas Rijneveld.

Also Read: US President Donald Trump nominated for Nobel Peace Prize

Parajuly’s novel, which was initially published in English to unanimous acclaim, was declared a ‘Book of the Year’ by The Independent in the UK, The Kansas City Star in US and The Hindustan Times and other publications in India. It was also one of the eight novels on Vogue India’s list of ‘The Great South Asian Novel.’

The author was additionally, shortlisted for The Dylan Thomas Prize in the UK and The Story Prize in the US. He was also featured on the Oprah Book Club in South Africa and later went on to judge the Dylan Thomas Prize.

Also Read: Assam Cong leader files PIL against hospitals refusing treatment to non-COVID patients

“Land Where I Flee” is a family saga, “a delightful comedy of manners” in which four Nepali-Indian siblings living in various parts of the world convene in the Himalayan town of Gangtok, in northeastern India, to celebrate their formidable grandmother’s 84th birthday. Parajuly is originally from Gangtok, the son of an Indian father and a Nepali mother, but now divides his time between New York and Calcutta.

Awarded annually to one French writer and one foreign writer, the First Novel Prize is to be announced on October 26, at La Coupole on boulevard de Montparnasse, in Paris. A special ceremony will be held on November 15 at the Théâtre de la Pépinière, also in Paris. Previous winners have included American writer Jim Fergus, German author Katharina Winkler, and Shih-Li Kow from Malaysia.

Other writers on the 2020 list are: Marieke Lucas Rijneveld (Netherlands), Margaret Wilkerson Sexton (USA), Nazanine Hozar (Iran), Stephen Markley (USA), Olja Savicevic (Croatia), and Eduardo Fernando Varela (Argentina).

Also Read: Border tension escalates? Arunachal villagers near McMahon Line vacate village: Reports

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply