The 2020 ICC Hall of Fame inductees: Kallis(L), Sthalekar(M), Zaheer Abbas(R) Credit: Twitter

Guwahati: The International Cricket Council (ICC) inducted three retired greats of the game — Jacques Kallis, Lisa Sthalekar, and Zaheer Abbas — to its list of Hall of Fame on Sunday.

The 2020 inductees into the ICC Hall of Fame were announced during an absorbing live show broadcast around the world via ICC digital channels. The show, hosted by commentator Alan Wilkins, featured retired greats Sunil Gavaskar, Melanie Jones and Shaun Pollock as the main guests and had Wasim Akram, Graeme Smith and Alyssa Healy join in to congratulate and appreciate the 2020 inductees.

Kallis is one of the greatest all-rounders in the history of cricket with over 10,000 runs in Tests and ODIs while taking 200 wickets in both formats of the game. He is also South Africa’s highest run-getter in Tests and ODIs. Kallis becomes the fourth South African player to be inducted in the ICC Hall of Fame.

Forty-one-year-old Sthalekar is the first woman to take 100 wickets and hit 1,000 runs in international cricket while playing for Australia. She became the 27th Aussie to be inducted in the ICC Hall of Fame.

Also Read: Is Shillong really one of India’s dirtiest cities? Meghalaya govt responds

Abbas averaged more than 40 in both the formats playing for Pakistan and is the only Asian batsman to hit 100 first-class centuries. He became the sixth Pakistani player to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame.

Former ICC Cricket Hall of Famers formed the majority of the adjudicating panel with representation from the media, ICC and Federation of International Cricketers’ Association (FICA).

The ICC Hall of fame was first introduced in 2009. The first Indians to be inducted in the lost were Sunil Gavaskar and Bishan Singh Bedi. Then it was Kapil Dev in 2010, Anil Kumble in 2015, Rahul Dravid in 2018. Last year, the only Indian to be inducted in the list of Hall of Fame was Sachin Tendulkar.

In all, 93 players have been inducted so far under the system, which sees retired players become eligible five years after playing their last international match.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply