Image for representation

Kohima: Three town councils in Nagaland have been awarded among the best in the recently declared Swachh Survekshan Awards 2020 by Union minister for Housing & Urban Affairs, civil aviation, Hardeep Singh Puri during a virtual event on Thursday.

All three awards were given under the Northeast Zone category. Mokokchung, Pfutsero and Chumoukedima were awarded under the different categories.

Mokokchung was awarded as the ‘Cleanest city’ in the North-East Zone cleanest city under 25,000-50,000 population category.

Mokokchung awarded North-East Zone cleanest city (25,000-50,000 population)

The town council of Pfutsero under Phek district was awarded the ‘Best city in innovation and best practices’ in the North East Zone under less than 25,000 population category.

Town council Pfutsero bagged the North-East-Zone best city in Innovation & best practices (less than 25,000 population

The town council of Chumoukedima under Dimapur district was awarded as the ‘Best self sustainable city in the Northeast zone below 25,000-50,000 population category.

Town council Chumoukedima awarded North-east-zone best self sustainable city (below 25,000-50,000)

Swachh Survekshan was launched by Prime minister Narendra Modi in 2016 and it monitors the Swachh Bharat Abhiyan launched in 2014. The survey was introduced with the objective of generating large-scale participation in Swachh Bharat Abhiyan. It was also aimed at inculcating a spirit of healthy competition among cities towards becoming India’s cleanest cities.

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment