BJP national president JP Nadda welcoming the newly inducted party members in Delhi on Wednesday Credit: Twitter
YouTube video

Imphal: Five of the six rebel Congress MLAs, who recently resigned from the Opposition party in Manipur, have officially joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the presence of chief minister N Biren Singh in Delhi on Wednesday.

The ex-Congressmen were inducted into the saffron party by its national president JP Nadda in presence of general secretary Ram Madhav and vice president Baijayant Jay Panda.

The newly-inducted party members are former CM and senior Congress leader Okram Ibobi Singh’s nephew Henry Ibobi Singh, Paonam Brojen, Oinam Lukhoi Singh, Ngamthang Haokip and Ginsuanhau Zou.

Five Manipur former Congress MLAs joined the BJP party in Delhi

As per sources, former MLA Md Abdul Nasir of Lilong constituency did not join the BJP on Wednesday. However, he would soon join the N Biren Singh-led ruling party in the state.

Earlier, speaking with EastMojo, Henry informed that Nasir would not be joining the BJP, but some other political party of the state.

Manipur Congress spokesman Ningombam Bupenda Meitei took to Twitter to react: “Those, who left Congress to join BJP,have betrayed the voters & party workers who have elected them on Congress ticket. Manipur’s BJP Govt. can’t face division vote in the House & it has failed to transfer Zou drugs case to CBI. People will reject betrayers.”

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment