CM N Biren Singh called in BJP national president JP Nadda in Delhi on Tuesday

Imphal: Six former Congress MLAs, who had recently resigned from the party in Manipur, are at present in New Delhi along with chief minister N Biren Singh to meet the BJP central leaders.

They were among the eight Congress MLAs who skipped the trust vote during the one-day session of the legislative assembly last week, in which BJP won the trust motion by a voice vote.

The team left for the national capital from Imphal on Sunday to pave the way for their induction into the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), as per reports.

According to sources, the six former MLAs of the Congress party were invited in the national capital by the Central leaders. However, of the six former INC MLAs, five of them are joining the BJP party.

Speaking with EastMojo over phone, MLA Henry Okram Singh, the nephew of former CM and CLP leader Okram Ibobi Singh, said, “Five of us will be joining the BJP party and Md Abdul Nasir of Lilong will be joining another party.”

However, Henry did not divulge further which party Nashir will be joining.

Also Read: Manipur: Cong lashes out at rebel MLAs, says one must follow ethics in politics

The five former Congress MLAs who are joining the BJP party are Henry Okram Singh, Oinam Lukhoi Singh, Ngamthang Haokip, Ginsuanhau and Paonam Brojen.

Sources also said that RK Imo Singh, who is currently the Congress MLA and son-in-law of CM Biren Singh is also part of the Delhi team.

CM Biren Singh had earlier said that he and the former Congress MLAs will meet the central leaders in Delhi to introduce personally and to invite them into the BJP fold, as per reports.

On Tuesday, Singh had also called in BJP national president JP Nadda and apprised him the political development in the state.

So far, there is no official information whether the former Congress MLAs who are camping in the national capital have meet any of the BJP central leaders.

Also Read: Manipur: BJP-led govt wins trust vote

Leave a comment

Leave a comment