CM N Biren Singh felicitating the new BJP members on Wednesday Credit: Twitter

Imphal: In a major political development in Manipur, at least six Congress elected councillors and one councillor of National People’s Party (NPP) in the Imphal Municipal Corporation have joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP on Wednesday.

The new members of BJP were warmly accorded welcome by chief minister N Biren Singh and party state unit president S Tikendrajit Singh in a simple reception held at CM’s secretariat in Imphal.

“Gaining trust on the BJP led Government in the State, 6 Corporators from @INCIndia and 1 from @nppmeghalaya of the Imphal Municipal Corporation joined BJP today at a simple function held at my official residence, also attended by @BJP4Manipur president Prof.S.Tikendra Singh,” CM N Biren tweeted.

Also Read: Manipur: Political activist Erendro Leichombam booked under sedition

CM N Biren Singh felicitating the new BJP members on Wednesday

This latest development comes just over a week after three other Congress leaders, including former deputy Speaker MK Preshow, and a group of councillors of Sugnu Municipal Council, joined the BJP.

Meanwhile, as per reports, another development is in the making with two Congress MLAs, RK Imo Singh and Okram Henry, are also likely to join the BJP soon in the state.

Earlier, the Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) had sent showcase notices to two of its MLAs for allegedly having crossed-voted in favour of the BJP candidate Leishemba Sanajaoba in the recently concluded Rajya Sabha election.

Imo Singh is the son of former Congress chief minister of Manipur RK Jaichandra Singh and also the son-in-law of CM N Biren Singh, wherein Okram Henry is the nephew of former CM and Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader Okram Ibobi Singh.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply