NPP state president Dr WR Kharlukhi elected as Rajya Sabha MP Credit: DIPR_SHILLONG

Shillong: National People’s Party (NPP) state president, Dr WR Kharlukhi, was elected as Rajya Sabha MP from Meghalaya on Friday.

Dr Kharlukhi defeated Congress candidate, Kennedy Khyriem by 20 votes. Out of total 59 votes polled, 39 votes polled in favour of Kharlukhi.

Kharlukhi thanked the MLAs for supporting him, “Being elected as MP of the state, I will try my best to serve the people in whatever capacity I can,” said Kharlukhi.

When asked about his stand would be on Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA), he said that a resolution was passed in the assembly demanding the exemption of Meghalaya, as a representative representing the MDA he would follow the resolution. He feels that Meghalaya should be exempted from CAA.

YouTube video

Also Read: Security build-up near Nathu La along China border: Trouble ahead?

Khnam MLA, Adelbert Nongrum abstained from voting. This is the first time an NPP president will be representing the State as the MP in the Upper House.

Meanwhile the Rajya Sabha elections were deferred due to the coronavirus pandemic. The term of the current Rajya Sabha MP from Meghalaya, Wansuk Syiem had ended on April 12.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment