A delegation of Secular Progressive Front, Manipur led by O Ibobi Singh called on Manipur Governor on Friday evening

Guwahati: Amid the political drama in Manipur, two senior Congress leaders — Gaurav Gogoi and Ajai Maken — have been reportedly put in quarantine by the authorities in the Manipur health department.

Criticising both the leaders of disregarding coronavirus guidelines, national general secretary of the BJP, Ram Madhav, said that both Maken and Gogoi entered Manipur violating standing norms. They have been promptly quarantined by the state health authorities, he said.

On Twitter, the three senior political leaders of the country — Ram Madhav, Ajai Maken and Gaurav Gogoi — were seen exchanging words and accusing each other for the political development in Manipur.

Also Read: BJP candidate Leishemba Sanajaoba wins RS election in Manipur

Also Read: There’s a bit of friction with leadership of Manipur: NPP chief

When Gogoi blamed the BJP for their alleged manipulation to block four Congress votes inducing a false sense of confidence, Ram Madhav said, “Thanks. A total of 5 Congress MLAs have voted for BJP candidate. That is a fact. So much for your confidence boosting visit to Imphal. The government has clearly conveyed to you and Maken about quarantine rules in advance. Yet you went to ‘boost’ confidence. Result …!!”

Reacting to Ram Madhav allegation, Ajai Maken said that both the leaders of the Congress took permission and booked quarantine centre in advance.

“No Ram Madhav ji. Congress always regards rules & traditions- We came here with permission (as attached)with full knowledge & booked quarantine centre in advance It’s a support to the Manipur PCC & it’s people in fight against a Govt formed by manipulation against popular votes!” Ajai Maken wrote in Twitter.

Earlier, amid the frantic political drama between the ruling party in Manipur and the Opposition Congress, BJP candidate, the titular king Leishemba Sanajaoba got elected as the member of Rajya Sabha.

He received the certificate of election from the Manipur Legislative Assembly secretary M Ramani Devi on Friday evening.

BJP candidate Sanajaoba won the election for the lone RS seat by securing 28 votes, INC nominee T Mangibabu bagged 24 votes.

Also Read: Indian, Chinese troops come face-to-face along border in Arunachal

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment