Manipur NPP president Dr WR Kharlukhi sanitises his hand during the Rajya Sabha election on Friday
Manipur NPP president Dr WR Kharlukhi sanitises his hand during the Rajya Sabha election on Friday|EastMojo image

Rajya Sabha elections underway for 18 seats, including 3 from NE

Election in Manipur comes amid major political crisis as 9 MLAs of ruling BJP-NPP coalition have resigned, including deputy CM N Joykumar

Team EastMojo

Team EastMojo

Guwahati: After much delay due to COVID-19 pandemic, polls for 19 Rajya Sabha seats across 8 states kickstarted from 9 am on Friday morning. These include 4 seats each from Gujarat and Andhra Pradesh, 3 each from Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, 2 from Jharkhan, and 1 seat each from Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) will be announcing the results today itself. All arrangements have been made to observce social distancing during the electoral process.

Polls for 55 seats of the Upper House of Parliament were scheduled to take place on March 26, but the EC had deferred the elections due to the COVID-19 outbreak. Of these seats, 37 were filled uncontested.

In Manipur, the polls comes amid a major political turmoil as 9 MLAs of the ruling N Biren Singh led BJP-NPP government have resigned, including the Deputy CM N Joykumar. Meanwhile, Congress is claiming stakes. BJP fielded Leisemba Sanajaoba, the titular king of Manipur, while the Congress nominee is T Mangi Babu

In Meghalaya, CM Conrad Sangma expressed confidence that WR Kharlukhi will win the lone Rajya Sabha seat from the state.

BJP nominee Nabam Rebia was also elected unopposed to the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Arunachal Pradesh.

Meanwhile, in MP, the voting concluded in the afternoon. 206 MLAs, including 1 who tested positive for COVID-19 casted their votes. The infected MLA donned a PPE kit and all portective gears to come cast his vote.

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Activate Website Notifications to stay updated.