NPP chief and Meghalaya CM Conrad K Sangma Credit: Twitter

Shillong: A day after four members of the National People’s Party (NPP), a coalition party of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led government in the Manipur, including heath minister L Jayantakumar Singh, deputy chief minister Y Joykumar Singh, tribal affairs minister N Kayisii and YAS minister Letpao Haokip, withdrew support on Wednesday, NPP chief and Meghalaya chief minister Conrad K Sangma agreed that there had indeed been some differences with the leadership of the state.

“The NPP had withdrawn support yesterday [Wednesday] after 3 BJP members resigned from the primary membership of the party. There has been a bit of friction and differences between the leadership of the state and NPP ministers and MLAs of the state,” said Sangma in a video interview.

Also Read: Big blow to BJP-led govt in Manipur as 9 MLAs resign

“We brought this to the notice of the central leadership in the Centre and we tried to resolve this to a large extent, and efforts were on. But in the end, the resolution of the BJP MLAs itself finally triggered the entire sequence of events,” added Sangma.

So now, all the MLAs of the NPP have decided not to support the BJP government in Manipur, Sangma said, adding: “I’m in touch with them and will see how to move forward.”

“Financial secretaries have been asked to visit Mmanipur and meet the leaders concerned and submit their reports,” he added.

Also Read: Manipur political crisis: Cong stakes claim to form new govt

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply