Itanagar: Arunachal Pradesh has one seat among the 24 Rajya Sabha seats where the elections are to be held on June 19.

The present Rajya Sabha MP from the state, Mukut Mithi, will be retiring on June 23.

If sources are to be believed, names of few senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders from the state have come forward as the contenders for member of parliament in Rajya Sabha.

Also Read: Arunachal: Lalu Prasad Yadav’s car among 26 stolen vehicles seized

Among them are RK Khirmey (former minister), Tai Tagak (former state BJP president), Tamiyo Taga (former minister), Tangro Tapak (former BJP president cum minister), Talo Mugli (former minister) and Nabam Rebia (former minister).

In all, four Rajya Sabha seats each from Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat and Karnataka, three from Rajasthan, three from Madhya Pradesh, two from Jharkhand and one seat each from Manipur, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram are going to be decided by the June 19 elections.

Also Read: George Floyd was COVID-19 positive before death, reveals autopsy

Leave a comment

Leave a comment