Manipur has a lone seat in the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections Credit: EastMojo image 

Imphal: The Election Commission of India (ECI) announced that the deferred Rajya Sabha elections for 18 seats, including one seat in Manipur, would be held in June 19.

ECI, in a statement issued on Monday, said that the biennial elections for the 18 seats which was scheduled on March 26 was deferred owing to the prevailing unforeseen situation of public health emergency due to COVID-19 and related advisories in the country.

The ensuing biennial elections for the 18 seats in seven states include Andhra Pradesh with four seats, Gujarat-four seats, Jharkhand -two seats, Madhya Pradesh – three seats, Manipur- one seat, Meghalaya – one seat and Rajasthan with three seats.

Polling for the 18 seats will begin at 9 am on June 19 and will continue till 4 pm. Counting of votes would begin at 5 pm on the same day.

The Commission has also decided that the chief secretaries of each state shall deputy a senior officer from the state to ensure that the extant instruction regarding COVID-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the elections, ECI said in a statement.

The Commission has also appointed chief electoral officer (CEO) concerned as observer for the election in the respective state, it added.

Also Read: Manipur’s youngest COVID-19 patient from Churachandpur recovers

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment