Trains will have both AC & non-AC classes and general coach with reserved seats. There will be non-reserved coaches Credit: EastMojo image

Guwahati: The Union ministry of railways, in consultation with the Union ministry of health & family welfare and ministry of home affairs, has decided to partially restore train services from June 1, 2020.

Indian Railways will start operations of 200 passenger services from June 1 and booking of all these trains has already started from 10 am on May 21.

Also Read: NF Railway installs GPS-based ‘FogPASS’ in all operating trains

These special services will be in addition to the existing Shramik special trains being run since May 1 and Special AC trains (30 trains) being run since May 12, 2020.

Other regular passenger services, including all mail/express, passenger and narrow gauge services shall remain cancelled until further advice. These trains will be special trains on the pattern of regular trains.

Trains will have both AC & non-AC classes and general coach with reserved seats. There will be no unreserved coaches.

“Timings and stoppages of trains will be as per regular trains. Tickets can be booked through IRCTC website or mobile app only. The advance reservation period will be a maximum of 30 days. No linens, blankets and curtains will be provided inside the train. Only asymptomatic passengers with confirmed tickets shall be allowed to enter the railway stations / board the trains,” Subhanan Chanda, chief public relations officer, NF Railway, said.

The passengers will have to reach the station at least 90 minutes in advance to facilitate thermal screening. Passengers will have to observe social distancing both at the stations and on trains.

Also Read: How Agartala railway station is getting a world-class makeover

On arrival at their destination, the travelling passengers will have to adhere to such health protocols as are prescribed by the destination state/UT.

The trains which will run at present in the areas under the Northeast Frontier Railway include Sealdah – Alipurduar Padatik Express (02377 / 02378); Amritsar – New Jalpaiguri Karmabhumi Express (02407 / 02408), Delhi – Alipurduar Mahananda Express (05484 / 05483), Delhi – Dibrugarh Brahmaputra Mail (05955 / 05966), Guwahati – LTT Express (05645 / 05646), Guwahati – Jorhat Town Jan Shatabdi Express (02067 / 02068).

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply