Guwahati: In the first phase, the Central government has planned a week-long sortie of 64 flights, across 12 countries, to evacuate around 15,000 Indians stranded abroad due to COVID-19 lockdown.

Starting on May 7, Indians will be brought back from UAE, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, United Kingdom, Singapore, Malaysia, USA, Philippines, Bangladesh, Kuwait, Oman, Bahrain.

A press release said, “Indian Embassies and High Commissions are preparing a list of distressed Indian citizens. This facility would be made available on payment-basis. Non-scheduled commercial flights would be arranged for air travel. The travel would begin in a phased manner from May 7.”

It added, “Medical screening of passengers would be done before taking the flight. Only asymptomatic passengers would be allowed to travel. During the journey, all these passengers would have to follow the protocols, such as the Health Protocols, issued by the Ministry of Health and the Ministry of Civil Aviation.”

On reaching the destination, all passengers will have to register on the Aarogya Setu app, and everyone will be medically screened.

After scrutiny, they would be quarantined for 14 days, either in a hospital or in an institutional quarantine on payment-basis, by the concerned state government. COVID test would be done after 14 days and further action would be taken according to health protocols.

Here is the seven-day schedule:

Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5
Day 6
Day 7

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment