Agartala: As Tripura continues to fight against the spread of coronavirus pandemic, the frontline workers of Tripura Police expressed their concern towards the challenges being faced by the state government and made a voluntary contribution to the chief minister’s relief fund (CMRF) on Thursday.

Additional director general of police (ADGP) Rajiv Singh along with West Tripura district superintendent of police Manik Das handed over a cheque of Rs 1.16 crore to chief minister Biplab Kumar Deb.

A letter written by the ADGP informed, “In this hour of crisis, Tripura Police have endeavoured to ensure a humane and responsive approach to handle the crisis without overlooking the professional and firm approach with the situation demands.”

The letter also cited that the officers of all ranks of the Tripura police family have collectively decided to strengthen the efforts of the state in fighting the spread of the virus by way of making a voluntary contribution, adding: “20,253 members of the Tripura police family comprising all ranks have voluntarily contributed a total of Rs. 1,16,90,343 to the Chief Minister’s Relief Fund”.

The chief minister also took to his Twitter account and wrote, “On behalf of the people of Tripura I thank Tripura Police family for donating ₹ 1,16,90,343 to CM’s relief fund today towards strengthening the fight against COVID-19. I appreciate 20253 members of Tripura Police for their voluntary contribution to this noble initiative.”

He also said: “I salute the dedication & hard work of Tripura Police personal who are working round the clock and ensuring safety and security of every citizen during this pandemic and still they contributed to CMRF for the benefit of Tripura people. Together we shall overcome soon.”

The Tripura Police and TSR troopers were also seen carrying food grains on their shoulders on Wednesday in the remotest areas so that no one has to sleep hungry.

Earlier, the chief minister took to his Twitter account and informed that Justice (retd) UB Saha donated Rs 1 lakh to the CM’s relief fund.

Meanwhile, Chief Justice A Kureshi, Justice S Talapatra, Justice SG Chattapadhyay and Justice Arindam Lodh also made separate donations to the CM’s relief fund to strengthen the fight against COVID-19.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply