Thounaojam Shyamkumar Singh Credit: Facebook/File image

Imphal: Following a recent Supreme Court verdict, former Manipur minister for municipal administration, housing and urban development (MAHUD) Thounaojam Shyamkumar Singh on Thursday tendered his resignation from the membership of the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly with immediate effect.

The latest development comes a week after the Supreme Court ordered the state assembly Speaker to remove Shyamkumar as a Cabinet minister from the BJP-led state government and restrained him from entering the legislative assembly.

“I have the honour to say that I am willing to resign from the membership of 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly in respect of 7-Andro A/C with immediate effect,” he said in his resignation letter addressing to the state assembly Speaker Yumnam Khemchand Singh.

On January 21, country’s apex court had ordered the Speaker’s Tribunal to decide the long-pending disqualification petitions pending against Shyamkumar within four weeks.

However, as per reports, after four weeks, the Speaker filed an application requesting for another eight more weeks in order to take up the matter before him.

In its March 18 verdict, the Supreme Court said, “Given the extraordinary facts in the present case, we are constrained to use our powers under Article 142 of the Constitution of India. Respondent No 3 (Th Shyamkumar) is restrained from entering the legislative assembly till further orders of this court. Needless to add, he will cease to be a minister of the cabinet immediately.”

The top court’s judgment was in response to a miscellaneous application filed by Congress MLA Krishna Meghachandra Singh and Fajur Rahim to plea Shymakumar’s disqualification under 10th Schedule of the Constitution of India after his unceremonious exit from the party.

In 2017 assembly elections, Shyamkumar was elected on a Congress ticket from Andro constituency. However, much before he was sworn in as a Congress legislator, Shyamkumar switched his party allegiance to BJP in which he became the minister in N Biren Singh-led coalition government.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories