Representational image Credit: Representational image

New Delhi: As India reported a surge in coronavirus cases and three more deaths on Sunday, the Centre and state governments have decided to completely shut down 75 districts across the country where coronavirus cases have been reported.

The districts where lockdown was announced are from the states that include Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Punjab, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala.

According to reports, the decisions have been taken at a high-level meeting attended by chief secretaries of all states and the cabinet secretary and the principal secretary to the Prime Minister.

In view of the need to contain the spread of the deadly COVID-19, it was agreed that there was an urgent need to extend the restrictions on the movement of non-essential passenger transport, including interstate transport buses till March 31, an official said.

State governments will issue orders allowing only essential services to operate in and out 75 districts with confirmed COVID-19 cases or casualties.

It has also been decided to suspend the interstate bus services till March 31.

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment