Veteran artist Khulem Ongbi Leipaklotpi Devi being awarded MSKA Fellow 2016-17 on Tuesday

Imphal: Manipur State Kala Akademi (MSKA) on Tuesday awarded 27 selected individuals from the state in recognition for their outstanding contribution in the field of art and culture with cash prizes and citations during a meeting held at Jawaharlal Nehru Manipur Dance Academy in Imphal.

Minister for revenue, CAF&PD Karam Shyam graced the award ceremony on Tuesday

An 88-year-old Khulem Ongbi Leipaklotpi Devi, artist and guru of Manipuri classical raas dance and noted 73-year-old artist Thokchom Ibohal Singh, also known as guru of Nata Sankritana Pung, were awarded MSKA Fellow 2016-17, the second-highest Akademi honour for their lasting contributions in the field of Manipuri dance and Manipuri Nata Sankirtana music, respectively.

Apart from a certificate of honour, memento and a shawl, the MSKA Fellow recipients were honoured with Rs 1 lakh each by the minister for revenue, CAF & PD Karam Shyam and commissioner for art and culture M Joy.

Traditional theatre veteran artist Thongam Ongbi Punshi Devi receiving MSKA award

Since its inception in 1972, MSKA, which is an autonomous body of art and culture of the state aims to promote and recognised those individual or artist researching in the field of art and culture, including dance, music, fine arts, theatre, literature, indigenous sports, Tribal culture, Shumang Leela, Wari Leeba, Mime etc.

The annual Akademi Awards comprise four categories — MSKA Lifetime Achievement Award, MSKA Fellow, MSKA Award and MSKA Young Talent Award.

In this edition, as many as 19 individuals were the recipients of the Akademi Award 2016-17 with prize money of Rs 50,000 along with a certificate of honour, memento and a shawl.

The recipients for the Akademi Award 2016-17 are Thingbaijam Chourjeet Singh, Aribam Raseswori Devi, Ngariyanbam Kerani Singh, Akoijam Ibomcha Singh, Laishram Mani Devi, Laimayum Devendrajit Sharma, Dr Lamabam Gojendra, Phurailatpam Gunachandra Sharma, Thongam Ongbi Punshi Devi, Mutum Arunkumar Meetei, Salam Isheihanba Singh, Konsam Kunjaraj Singh, K Kijok Kabui, T Ngirsorang Koireng, Laishram Biramangol Singh, L Sarat, Prof Kangjam Ibohal Singh, Hijam Satyabrata Singh and Thokchom Ibotombi Meetei.

Moreover, Pebam Lilabati Devi, Lukram Tamphamani Singh, Hidangmayum Shyamkumar Sharma, Nongmaithem Tombi Devi, Moirangthem Inaoton Singh and Kaisii Athine were conferred the Akademi Young Talent award with cash prizes of Rs 25,000 each.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment