Representational image Credit: Representational image

Shillong: The Election Commission on Tuesday informed that the election to the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Meghalaya will be held alongside 54 others that are to get vacant across 17 states in the country on March 26.

The polling and counting for the 55 Rajya Sabha seats will commence on March 26, as the seats will fall vacant in April due to the retirement of members.

The term of the present Rajya Sabha MP from Meghalaya, Wansuk Syiem, will end on April 12.

While addressing the media, Meghalaya chief electoral officer Frederick R Kharkongor said that the voting for the election of the lone Rajya Sabha will be held inside the old Assembly campus at Khyndailad and the time of voting will be from 9 am to 4 pm.

He informed that the counting of votes will be held on the same day itself, an hour after the conclusion of polls.

According to the Election Commission of India, the notification for the elections will be issued on March 6 while the last date to file nominations is on March 13. The scrutiny will take place on March 16 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is March 18.

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment