Assam State Electricity Board (ASEB)  defeated Collge Veng Sports Club by 1-0 and lifted the champions trophy Credit: EastMojo Image

Agartala: With the end of the 23 ONGC Lucky-Srivastava Football Tournament at Agartala, the Assam State Electricity Board (ASEB) of Assam defeated Collge Veng Sports Club by a margin of 1-0 and lifted the champions trophy.

The winning team received prize money of Rs 4 lakh from Santana Chakma, minister of social welfare and social education, in presence of the chief guest OP Singh, Asset manager of ONGC Tripura.

The ASEB team also lifted both the man of the match and the man of the tournament trophies. Jwambla Brahma adjudged the man of the match and received Rs 10,000 as prize money and A Narzary, who scored total 11 goals, including the one that of the final, lifted the man of the tournament trophy.

The runner’s up team College Veng sports club who gave a tough fight in the final also received prize money of Rs 2 lakh beside their trophy.

During the prize-giving ceremony, Vasantha Lucky, widow of the slain ONGCian Justin Lucky remained present on the occasion.

The Lucky-Srivastava tournament is held in the memory of two ONGCians Justin Lucky and S K Srivastava, who bravely fell to the bullets of militants in 1992.

Also Read: Coronavirus: Tripura govt rubbishes report of 22 infected in state

Speaking on the closing ceremony, Santana Chakma said that the tournament is ONGC’s initiative to promote football among the people of Tripura and provide exposure to the football players of the State.

She further said that ONGC Tripura Asset is committed to the growth of the state.

The Tripura asset manager, OP Singh said, “Lucky Srivastava is one of the most popular football tournament of Tripura. Recently, ONGC has increased the prize money a lot and we expect that good teams from neighbouring states will join in this tournament.”

ONGC is taking new initiatives to popularise sports in the state, e.g encouraging women’s football.

The 23th ONGC Lucky- Srivastava football tournament was kicked off by MP of Loksabha, Pratima Bhowmick, on February 15 last.

10 teams including the state of Tripura, Assam, Manipur, Mizoram and West Bengal participated in the All India Football Federation, affiliated tournament.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment