At present only 2.55 lakh hectares of land is covered under irrigation system Credit: Representational image

Agartala: The council of ministers in the recent Cabinet meeting has decided to form “Tripura State Irrigation Council” with an aim to streamline irrigation facilities and production in Tripura with coordination of five departments in next five years.

Speaking to the reporters, law minister Ratan Lal Nath said that the council would be formed with a 13-member committee, led by deputy chief minister Jishnu Dev Varma as its chairman and chief secretary as its vice-chairman.

“A nine-member team of task force will also be formed comprising the additional chief secretary of agriculture department as Chairman. This task force would work on a daily basis,” Nath said.

He also said that after attaining the statehood in 1972, the previous government managed to bring only 24 per cent of cultivable land under irrigation even after receiving support from the Centre.

Also Read: Tripura: Former CM Manik Sarkar blames govt in development issues

“In the past 48 years due to lack of coordination among different departments only 2.55 lakh hectares of land out of the total 10,49,100 hectares was covered under irrigation system,” Nath added.

The government has taken a plan for a period of 5 years for increasing irrigational land and production with the coordination of five departments- Forest, RD, Panchayat, DWS and TTAADC. Moreover, a scheme named “CM assure irrigation programme” would also be initiated for progress in irrigation facilities across the state, he added.

The minister also said that in 2017-19 fiscal year 8.55 lakh mt of food grains like rice, daal, corn, etc. The production was reduced to 8.46 mt due to three floods in the 2018-19 fiscal years.

The target of 8.99 mt has been set for the 2019-20 financial year and till now 8.75 mt of production is already achieved, Nath said.

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment