The figures were revealed by Nagaland deputy CM Y Patton while answering a starred question on the floor of the 13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly on Monday Credit: Representational image

Kohima: The Nagaland government on Monday revealed that 28 defaulters of the Inner Line Permit (ILP) were detected in Dimapur district, following the extension of ILP regime in area since December 9 last year.

Answering a starred question on the floor of the 13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA), deputy chief minister Y Patton said that out of the 28 defaulters, cases were registered against six ILP defaulters and forwarded to the court for further necessary action.

Also Read: Set up inquiry or seek Lokayukta: Nagaland Oppn on Dy CM’s remark

Eight defaulters without any document were fined an amount of Rs 500 each and were deported to Assam. He further answered that 14 ILP defaulters were fined Rs 500 each and ILPs issued to them.

MLA Chotisuh Sazo, putting forward his supplementary question, queried as to what measures of detention and deportation were taken by the state government to monitor the detected defaulters. To his response, Patton said that a period of 90 days from the date of notification was allowed for persons settling in Dimapur to acquire ILP, and that no measures of detention or deportation have been initiated so far.

Further, when the opposition questioned if the ILP holders were allowed to be registered in the electoral roll of the state, Patton said that such anomalies were to be looked into .

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment