Representational image of Indian currency
Representational image of Indian currency|Representational Image

Nagaland: Over 40k students avail govt scholarship during 2018-19

A total of Rs 42 crore was disbursed under four scholarship schemes for the year 2018-19 in the department of higher education

Medolenuo Ambrocia

Medolenuo Ambrocia

Kohima: Nagaland minister of higher & technical education Temjen Imna Along Longkumer, on Friday laid in the House of the 13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) that nearly 40,000 students from the state have availed scholarships for the year 2018-19.

In the fifth session of the Assembly which resumed on Tuesday, a starred question in this regard was raised by MLA Kuzholuzo Nienu, where he questioned on the status of scholarship disbursed to students from 2018-19 and if the full payment of the scholarship was availed by all eligible beneficiaries.

In response, Longkumer laid the list of students availing scholarship. According to the provided data, four types of scholarship -- Post Matric Scholarship (ST), State Merit Scholarship, State Research Scholarship, NEC Scholarship-- were availed by students.

While 38,201 students within Nagaland benefited from the scholarships, 1483 students availed from outside the state. Longkumer said that the full payment was also made to all eligible beneficiaries.

Under the post-matric scholarship, an amount of Rs 4 crore was disbursed for 38,340 beneficiaries. Under the state merit scholarship, 1156 student were benefited with the total amount disbursed is Rs 1.7 crore.

With 89 beneficiaries, an amount of Rs 21 lakh was disbursed for under the State Research Scholarship. Under the NEC, 59 beneficiaries are recorded with Rs 13 lakh been disbursed.

This totals to an amount of Rs 42 crore being disbursed under four scholarship schemes for the year 2018-19 by the directorate of higher education.

Meanwhile, during the session, the governor has given his assent to the Amity University Nagaland, Act 2011 (Repeal) Bill, 2019, reported by state assembly secretary.

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Activate Website Notifications to stay updated.