MC Mary Kom

Guwahati: Six-time world champion MC Mary Kom, ace shuttler PV Sindhu and wrestler Vinesh Phogal are in the game to compete for the inaugural edition of BBC’s ‘Indian Sportswoman of the Year’ award along with two other athletes.

Odisha’s ace sprinter Dutee Chand and para-badminton pro Manasi Joshi are also in the pool of nominees.

The nominees were selected by a jury of eminent sports journalists.

Also Read: Coronavirus in India: 3rd case of deadly virus confirmed in Kerala

The winners will be decided on a voting basis which is open till February 18 on six BBC vernacular websites. The results will be announced on March 8 this year and honoured at an award ceremony in New Delhi, where an Indian sportswoman will also receive a Lifetime Achievement Award.

India has won 13 Olympic medals since 2000 — five of those were won by women. Men had won all the 13 medals before that.

“The BBC is committed to improving the representation of women in the news and I’m delighted that the BBC Indian Sportswoman of the Year Award 2019 will deliver on that aim for our growing audiences,” said Jamie Angus, director of BBC World Service during the announcement of the awards in December last year.

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment