School students participating at the 71st Republic Day celebration in Imphal on Sunday Credit: EastMojo image

Imphal: Joining with the rest of the country, Manipur on Sunday celebrated the 71st Republic Day in a grand manner amid a boycott called by six militant groups across Northeast India.

Manipur governor Najma Heptulla unfurled the tricolour and received the customary military salute during the parade held at the historic Kangla Fort in Imphal.

Most of the cabinet ministers of the N Biren Singh-led government, including deputy chief minister Y Joykumar Singh, education minister Th Radheshyam Singh, works minister Th Biswajit Singh, Lok Sabha MP RK Ranjan were present on the occasion along with former CM and an Opposition leader O Ibobi Singh.

This year, altogether 118, including march-past contingents, cultural troupes and tableaux, were part of the event.

Thousands gathered at Kangla Pat to witnessed the Republic Day celebration in Imphal on Sunday

On the occasion, Manipur Police Training College assistant director Sarangthem Asana, and 9th India Reserve (Mahila) Battalion deputy commandant Chiphang Cecelia Sopemla were the parade commander and guard of honour commander, respectively.

Also Read: Good news ahead of R-Day: Mary Kom awarded Padma Vibhushan

As many as 15 cultural troupes from across the state showcased the richness and wellness of traditions and culture in various forms of dance depicting its diverse lifestyle and practices.

The 16 tableaux presented on the occasion highlights innovations, ideas and accomplishments undertaken by each department of the state government, which also provides awareness to the people about their achievements and mission.

A tableau being displayed on the occasion of the Republic Day on Sunday

As part of the Republic Day celebration, an award distribution ceremony will be held at 1st Battalion Manipur Rifles Parade Ground on Monday where 11 personnel will receive an award for their outstanding services and performances.

Among the award recipients, Md Ghiyasuddin, Jemadar of 7th IRB will be awarded for President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service whereas Subedar S Saratchandra Singh of 3rd IRB and Subedar Kh Naba Singh of Manipur Police Training Centre will receive Police Medal for Meritorious Service and Union Home Minister’s Medal’s for Excellence in Police Training, respectively.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply