JP Nadda after being announced the new president of BJP on Monday

New Delhi: BJP working president Jagat Prakash Nadda on Monday was elected unopposed as the new chief of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). He formally took over the reins of the saffron party from his predecessor and Union home minister Amit Shah at a grand function at the party’s head office in New Delhi.

Nadda will be BJP president for a term of three years, that is till 2022.

The announcement was made by the BJP Central Election Committee chief Radha Mohan Singh.

Nadda has been a BJP worker for a long time. He has been an MLA from Himachal Pradesh for three terms from 1993 to 2012. He was also a cabinet minister from 1998 to 2003 — in charge of health and then forest, environment and science minister in the Himachal government from 2008 to 2010.

Nadda moved to Delhi in 2010 and worked closely with the party’s central leadership. He was elected to Rajya Sabha in April 2012.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment