Tripura: For 2023 polls, Cong hopes to piggyback on BJP infighting
Dr Manik Saha (right, in brown jacket) vs Biplab Kumar Deb (far left) Credit: EastMojo Image

Agartala: Within four years of joining Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Dr Manik Saha was elected as the new president of the Tripura state unit of the saffron party, that too unanimously, in Agartala on Wednesday.

Announcing this, Mahendra Singh, returning officer for organisational election, Tripura said that except Saha, no one filed papers for the post during the stipulated time. Accordingly, he was elected unanimously as the new president of Tripura unit of the BJP, he added.

The development came after Tripura CM Biplab Kumar Deb on Wednesday stepped down as state BJP president, four years after he was appointed to the post. This eventually paved way for Saha.

Saha joined BJP in 2016 and served as in-charge of Pristha Pramukhs (Panna Pramukhs) before the 2018 Assembly polls. He is also the president of Tripura Cricket Association.

Dr Saha’s name was announced in presence of Union minister of Jal Shakti Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, who is also the observer of the pradesh organisational election, chief minister and former state president Biplab Kumar Deb, deputy chief minister Jishnu Dev Varma, among many others.

Also Read: Why Tripura CM wrote a letter to railway minister Piyush Goyal?

Addressing media persons, chief minister Deb said that BJP is the only party which has a discipline starting from its booth level to the central level.

“I was given the responsibility of the Prishtapraukh urban charge in 2016 and later the convenor of the booth management committee in the state assembly election. The responsibility of the membership drive was also given to me with a target of 3,00,000 new joining but we made it to 7,00,000 new members,” Dr Saha said.

Meanwhile, state chief spokesperson Ashok Sinha and MLA Sambhu Lal Chakma were also elected as a members of the national party council. Biplab Deb on Wednesday stepped down as state BJP president, four years after he was appointed to the post, making way for Dr. Manik Saha.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply