Travel documents being issued to visitors on Tuesday after ILP was officially implemented in Manipur Credit: EastMojo image

Imphal: After Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram and Nagaland, the Inner Line Permit (ILP) system officially came into effect in Manipur on Tuesday (January 1, 2020), making it the fourth state of Northeast India to come under the regime.

According to a gazette notification issued on December 31, 2019, the Manipur Inner Line Permit Guidelines, 2019 shall apply to the entire state.

With this implementation of ILP under the Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulation, 1873, the system will protect the indigenous people of the state and control the influx of illegal immigrants.

As per the gazette notification, any person who is not indigenous of the state of Manipur or permanent resident of the state of Manipur, and entering the state shall obtain a permit to enter the state called ‘Inner Line Permit’.

According to official reports, of the 330 advance application forms received, 163 permits were issued on the first day of the system from four counters, including Bir Tikendrajit International Airport, Mao Gate in Senapati district, Moreh in Tengnoupal district and Jiribam.

As per reports, a temporary permit would be issued by the deputy commissioners, deputy resident commissioners of the Manipur Bhawans of New Delhi, Kolkata and Guwahati, sub-division officers of Jiribam, Songsong, Jessami, Singhat and Moreh, OCs of Mao, Jiribam, Jessami, Moreh, Behiang, Sinjowl and Imphal Airport for a period of 15 days subject to renewal.

Four types of ILPs have been listed under the notification — special category permit, regular permit, temporary permit and labour permit.

The special category permit will be issued by the home department for a period of three years subject to renewal. A person seeking a permit under this category will have to pay a fee of Rs 5,000 in the first instance and Rs 10,000 during renewals.

The regular permit will be issued by all DCs in their respective districts or any other agency authorised by the state government for a period of six months. A fee of Rs 500 in the first instance and Rs 1,000 for every renewal has to be paid for anyone seeking a permit under this category.

For a temporary permit which is a period of 15 days, a travel document can be obtained from all DCs in their respective districts, deputy resident commissioners or OSDs of Manipur Bhawan in New Delhi, Kolkata and Guwahati, SDOs and Officer-in-Charge of police stations in notified places, Imphal Airport or other agency authorised by state government. Any person seeking this permit shall have to pay Rs 100 in the first instance and Rs 200 for renewal.

The labour permit will have to issued by deputy labour commissioner or any other competent authority under the state government for a group of labourers brought by any contractor or firm, or company or individual for construction work for a period of six months, and could be extended for another six months, the reports said.

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply