Assam assembly elections
Representational image Credit: File image

Ranchi: Senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader and present chief minister of Jharkand Raghubar Das is likely to visit the governor soon to tender his resignation as the Congress-RJD-JMM alliance has already crossed the halfway mark in the 81-member state assembly, results of which were still pouring in till the filing of this report on Monday.

Congress and its allies have already secured 46 seats (+21 compare to elections in 2014) while the BJP and its allies have secured 25 seat (-12) till the filing of this report.

Meanwhile, Congress-RJD-JMM alliance’s chief ministerial candidate Hemant Soren said that a new era for Jharkhand has begun. On being asked if the deputy chief minister would be from the JMM, he said things would get clear in the coming days.

Also Read: Ex-PM Manmohan Singh demanded CAA in 2003? BJP tweets old video

“I thank the people of Jharkhand for the mandate. For me, it’s a day to take a vow. I vow to serve the people of Jharkhand. It is time to fulfil the dreams of the people. This is the result of Shibu Soren’s efforts. Time has come to fulfil our promises. I thank Congress, JMM and RJD for their support. I want to thank Rahul Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi, Lalu Prasad Yadav, and Sonia Gandhi for their support to us,” JMM chief Hemant Soren said while addressing media persons on Monday.

In the 2019 Jharkhand assembly election, the primary fight is between the BJP and the Congress-Jharkhand Mukti Morcha alliance. Counting of votes began at 8 am.

“We respect the mandate given by the people of Jharkhand. We express our gratitude towards them for giving us the opportunity to serve them for 5 years. BJP is committed towards continuous development in the state, Union home minister Amit Shah said.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply