Night curfew has been imposed once again along the Myanmar border in Nagaland’s Mon district up to February 21 next year

Kohima: The district magistrate of Mon, Thavaseelan K, issued a prohibitory order along with extension of night curfew along India-Myanmar border in Nagaland’s Mon district on Wednesday.

An official statement said that a prohibitory order under Section 144 of CrPC was issued for the enforcement of night curfew from 10 pm to 3 am in the 3-km belt along the India-Myanmar Border under the district. Curfew will be on till February 21, 2020.

Earlier in August, a three-month night curfew was enforced in the area from 10 pm to 3 am, which expired on Thursday.

Curfew along the Indo-Myanmar border was first clamped in 2015 following attacks on security forces by the NSCN (K) restricting the movement of vehicles, persons or groups within a 1 km belt.

Following the abrogation of ceasefire in March 2015 and the split of NSCN (K) in 2018, NSCN/GPRN (K) led by Khango Konyak in November last year gave a positive nod for the ceasefire.

Also Read: Nagaland: Shürhozelie Liezietsu re-elected as president of NPF

In April this year, a fresh ceasefire agreement was made between the NSCN/GPRN (K) and the Centre for a period of one year with effect from April 15, 2019 signed by MHA joint secretary Satyendra Garg and NSCN/GPRN (K) representatives-supervisor Newell Naga and member Michael Yeptho.

As the group on December 6, 2018 declared to revoke its decision of unilaterally abrogating the ceasefire agreement with the Union government, an informal meeting was held between both parties on December 17 to discuss differences that led to the abrogation of the ceasefire in 2015.

At present, all NSCN groups are on ceasefire with the Central government and are regulated by the Ceasefire Ground Rules (CFGR). In a recent conversation with EastMojo, NSCN-K(Khango) representatives have confirmed that the group will continue to be in ceasefire with the Centre.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment