Devendra Fadnavis being sworn in as Maharashtra CM by governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari

Mumbai: After a whole lot of twists and turns, incumbent BJP CM of Maharashtra Davendra Fadnavis was once again sworn in as the chief minister in the early hours of Saturday by governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari.

Meanwhile, Nationalist Congress Party’s (NCP) Ajit Pawar appointed as the deputy chief minister, whose party had hours ago supported Shiv Sena’s claim to the CM’s chair.

However, NCP’s president Sharad Pawar tweeted, “Ajit Pawar’s decision to support the BJP to form the Maharashtra government is his personal decision and not that of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). We place on record that we do not support or endorse this decision of his.”

According to reports, NCP will make an official statement at 12.30 pm on Saturday.

Also Read: SA Bobde sworn in as 47th CJI, succeeds Ranjan Gogoi

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated the elected headed of the state in a tweet. He said, “Congratulations to @Dev_Fadnavis Ji and @AjitPawarSpeaks Ji on taking oath as the CM and Deputy CM of Maharashtra respectively. I am confident they will work diligently for the bright future of Maharashtra.”

Meanwhile, President’s rule which was imposed in Maharashtra on November 12, was revoked in the wee hours of Saturday prior to the swearing-in.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment