NPF members from Nagaland from neighboring Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh taking part in the party’s general convention held in Kohima on Friday Credit: EastMojo image

Kohima: Nagaland Opposition party Naga People’s Front (NPF), while observing its general convention at Naga Solidarity Park in Kohima on Friday, re-elected Shürhozelie Liezietsu as the party’s president for 2020-2024.

Elected by the election board of NPF, most members of the party were re-elected to the same positions including Rajya Sabha MP KG Kenye as its secretary-general; Apong Pongener and Huskha Yepthomi as the working presidents. While NPF spokesperson, Achumbemo Kikon was elected as one of the vice presidents, the post of the party spokesperson remains vacant for now.

The general convention was attended by thousands of party workers including men and women from all districts of the state, and even from Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh. A total of 180 members were elected to various positions of NPF at the general convention, of which 74 were Central Executive Council (CEC) members. The new team of office bearers is likely to take over charge from January next year.

In its convention, NPF appreciated the Centre, governor RN Ravi, the Interlocutor to the Naga political dialogue, and the Naga negotiating groups for understanding the problems of the longest Naga political struggle in southeast Asia for an honourable and acceptable settlement.

NPF’s general convention being held at Naga Solidarity Park in Kohima, Nagaland on Friday

The party also appealed all Naga negotiating groups, including the NSCM-IM and seven NNPGs (WC) , to come together and bring about an early solution.

Further appealing all its neighbouring states in extending positive cooperation to resolve the Naga political issue for mutual respect and peaceful co-existence in the Northeast region, it appealed all Naga people to be more positive towards the settlement of the present Indo-Naga Political dialogue for a peaceful resolution.

The party also extended its support and confidence in the leadership of its president Shürhozelie Liezietsu and leader of NPF legislature wing TR Zeliang.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment