Players of Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh during the finals of the girls’ handball match Credit: North East Students’ Organization Jalandhar

Jalandhar: With a very positive intent to promote unity, understanding and rapport among the students in and around Jalandhar in Punjab, the North East Students’ Organization Jalandhar (NESOJ) hosted the 7th edition of the annual Games and Sports Meet 2019 between August 31 and November 12 this year.

The event, which lasted for more than two months, was sponsored by Pilot Sports Jalandhar, co-sponsored by Metsuben Wedding Planner, Dimapur and Tsukhru Design, Kohima and was supported by Club Twenty, LPU.

The dignitaries who attended the closing ceremony of the 7th Games and Sports Meet of the North East Students’ Organization Jalandhar 

The event concluded with a grand ceremony at Hardaspur Playground, Phagwara, which was attended by Soso Shaiza, member for National Commission for Women (NCW). The last day of the event witnessed the prize distribution to the winners of the various sports that were played during the past two months.

Also Read: Nita Ambani named 1st Indian trustee of Metropolitan Museum of Art

At the closing ceremony, Shaiza praised and congratulated the pioneers of NESOJ for pulling it up together with the respective state clubs and unions. NESOJ convenor Risso Apataya said: “It has been an immense pleasure to be a part of this grand event which brought healthy competition, also giving a podium to every Northeastern in Phagwara and Jalandhar to compete and explore their hidden talents.”

Players in action during the two-month-long sporting event

Youth from all the eight Northeastern states participated in the event. Abotani SC, representing Arunachal Pradesh, was awarded the title of the ‘Overall Champions’. The Best Athlete Male and Best Athlete Female award went to LalrozamaRalte and Tovikali K Chophy from Mizoram and Nagaland, respectively.

The winners of different awards were as follows:

  1. Male Football Champion: Abonati SC (Arunachal Pradesh)

  2. Male Cricket Champion: Sangai (Manipur)

  3. Male Volleyball Champion: Hornbill (Nagaland)

  4. Male Basketball Champion: Lushai (Mizoram)

  5. Female Handball Champion: Sangai (Manipur)

  6. Female Volleyball Champion: Lushai (Mizoram)

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment