The 10 former NPF leaders who joined CM Neiphiu Rio-led NDPP in Nagaland on Monday Credit: Twitter

Wokha: Following their resignation from the Naga People’s Front (NPF) from its Wokha division on Friday, 10 leaders of the opposition party joined hands with chief minister Neiphiu Rio-led Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) on Monday.

In a communique issued by the NDPP media & communications cell on Monday, the party welcomed Mhonthung Patton, former president of the NPF’s Wokha division, and all office bearers who have resigned from the primary and active membership of the NPF with the firm decision and commitment to support the leadership of Rio and president of the NDPP Chingwang Konyak.

A copy of the NDPP communique welcoming Mhonthung Patton, former president of the NPF Wokha division, and other office bearers to the party

It said that these leaders joined the party on Sunday in the presence of senior party functionaries of the NDPP.

“The decision of these leaders from Wokha district to join the NDPP will greatly benefit and strengthen the party and at the same time also reveals the people’s belief in the NDPP,” the statement said.

It added that with this joining, the party is confident of taking the party forward in Wokha district and Nagaland to greater heights in the days to come.

Earlier on Friday, Patton along with nine other NPF party leaders tendered their resignation to the NPF president.

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment