Credit: EastMojo image

Guwahati: Assam recorded an estimated voter turnout of 74.14% till 5 pm at the end of the by-elections held at four assembly constituencies on Monday.

By-elections for the four assembly constituencies of the state — Ratabari, Sonari, Rangapara and Jania — started at 7 am on Monday and was held in a peaceful manner with a few Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) malfunctions reported from some of the polling stations.

As per data shared by the Election Commission of India (ECI), till 5 pm, Jania constituency of Assam recorded the highest voter turnout in the state with an estimated poll percentage of 78.21%, followed by Rangapara assembly constituency at 77.5%; Ratabari assembly constituency at 74.37% and Sonari with a total turnout of 66.4%.

Assam by-elections recorded an estimated voter turnout of 74.14% till 5 pm

A total of 6,77,367 voters exercised their franchise across 830 polling stations to decide the fate of 20 candidates who are in the fray for the by-elections held in the four constituencies of the state.

By-polls to the four constituencies of Assam were necessitated after sitting BJP MLAs and ministers Pallab Lochan Das from Rangapara, Tapan Gogoi from Sonari along with Deputy Speaker Kripanath Mallah of Ratabari and Congress MLA Abdul Khaleque from Jania were recently elected to the Lok Sabha.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply