Sakawrdai North, Saiphai and Tinghmun constituencies are believed to see the key contests during the forthcoming SHC elections Credit: Representational image

Aizawl: As many as 43 candidates are in the fray for the first general election to a 12-member Sinlung Hills Council (SHC) in Mizoram after the scrutiny of nomination papers ended on Friday evening.

Speaking with EastMojo, state election commission secretary Teresy Vanlalhruaii informed that ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) has fielded candidates for seven seats, while Congress would contest in six constituencies.

She added that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and National People’s Party (NPP) have fielded their candidates in two seats each, Hmar People’s Convention (faction) in one seat and there are 25 Independent candidates.

The ruling MNF and HPC party headed by Thangliensung have forged electoral alliance and shared their seats, while MNF is contesting in seven seats, HPC has fielded in five seats. However, the HPC would contest as independent due to a court order.

Sakawrdai North, Saiphai and Tinghmun constituencies are believed to see the key contests this year.

In Sakawrdai North, sitting chief executive member of the council Lalthlamuana Hmar was tipped against Congress nominee Lalrammuanpuia, village council president R Lalfakzuala (independent) and two Hmar prominent leaders Darrosanga and Rohringa, both are independent candidates.

Also Read: Mizoram CM Zoramthanga makes clarion call to fight HIV/AIDS

Sitting chairman of the council, Lalmalsawma Darngawn was up against former HPC(D) general secretary and Congress nominee Darliensang Ralsun, Hmar Students leader VL Khawbung and Rorela in Tinghmun constituency, which is believed to be the second key contest after Sakawrdai North.

Former Hmar militant deputy army chief Lalbiaknunga will face tough competition from Congress nominee and village council vice president Ramhluna, BJP candidate HA Laldawngliana and prominent local leader Lalawithanga in Saiphai constituency.

Prominent Hmar leader and ex-MLA candidate Lalvenhima Hmar and former SHC member Lalremruata Varte are also contesting in Suangpuilawn and Sakawrdai South constituencies respectively.

As per statements issued from the state’s election commission, the last date for withdrawal of candidature was fixed on October 14 and the elections will be held in 38 polling stations within SHC area on November 5 this year. The counting of votes will be done as soon as ballot boxes reach constituency headquarters on the same day.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply