Electronic voting machines Credit: Representational Image

Aizawl: The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) and Hmar People’s Convention (HPC) have forged electoral alliance in the run up to first Sinlung Hills Council (SHC) general election to be held on November 5.

Sources in MNF on Wednesday said that the party will field candidates in seven seats and HPC will contest in five seats in the 12- member council.

The MNF will contest in Phuaibuang, Vanbawng, New Vervek, Tinghmun, Ratu, Zohmun and Saipum while the HPC has fielded former HPC (Democratic) working chairman LT Hmar in Khawlian constituency, former HPC (Democratic) deputy army chief in Saiphai constituency, prominent Hmar leader Lalvenhima Hmar in Suangpuilawn constituency and Lalremruata Varte in Sakawrdai South constituency. The HPC is yet to decide its nominee for Sakawrdai North constituency.

The MNF has fielded Zokapliana in Phuaibuang constituency, Ricky Lalremsanga in Vanbawng constituency, H Lalengzauva in Ratu constituency, C Lalnuntlanga in New Vervek, HC Lalmalsawma in Zohmun constituency, sitting SHC chairman Lalmalsawma in Tinghmun constituency and CS Lalruatliana in Saipum constituency.

The Congress will field 11 seats except Saipum constituency and the BJP is likely to field five seats.

The last date for filing nomination papers is October 10, while the last date for withdrawal of candidature was fixed on October 14.

Scrutiny of nomination papers would be held on October 11 and counting of votes would be undertaken on November 5 as soon as all ballot boxes reach constituency headquarters.

Counting of re-polled votes if required will be held on November 7.

SHC was established on July 9, 2018 a result of the peace accord signed between the Mizoram government and the erstwhile underground Hmar People’s Convention (Democratic) on April 2 that year.

The council will have 12 elected members and two nominated members.

A total of 20,914 electorates including 10,405 female voters would exercise their franchise in 38 polling stations to decide the fate of 12 members.

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment