Assam DGP Kuladhar Saikia is a 1985-batch IPS officer of the Assam-Meghalaya cadre Credit: Twitter

Guwahati: In an interesting development, Assam director general of police (DGP) Kuladhar Saikia, who is also a prominent litterateur, and Padma Shri winner, writer Joyasree Goswami Mahanta filed nomination papers separately for the post of the president of Asam Sahitya Sabha (ASS), the highest non-government literary organisation of the state, on the last day of filing nominations papers on Friday.

The voting for various posts of ASS will begin on November 1 and continue till December 10. The last date for withdrawing nomination papers is October 7.

Joyasree Goswami Mahanta was awarded Padma Shri in 2018 for her contribution in the field of literature and education

Also Read: Women’s World Boxing Championships: Assam’s Jamuna Boro wins gold

Saikia, who won the prestigious Katha Award in 2000 and Sahitya Akademi Award in 2015 for his short stories, will retire from services on November 30, 2019. The Assam government has extended his service for three months as the well-known writer was supposed to retire from his service on August 31 this year.

A prominent writer and former Rajya Sabha MP, Mahanta was awarded with Padma Shri in 2018 for her contribution in the field of literature and education. She is also a prominent leader of Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and wife of former chief minister Prafulla Kumar Mahanta. A writer, educationist and social worker from Assam, she highlights various facets of the society through her literary work.

Expressing his desire to work for development of the society through the ASS, Saikia said, “I have been associating with the Sabha right from my childhood. It’s a very powerful and prestigious organisation of the state. I would like to serve the organisation and the society in days to come.”

Altogether seven persons have already filed their nominations for the post of Sabha president. Apart from Saikia and Mahanta, some of the prominent members, who have filed papers for the post of president, include Basanta Kumar Goswami, Prahlad Tasha, Karabi Deka Hazarika and Suryakanta Hazarika.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment