Counting of votes will be held on September 27

Agartala: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Sunday announced the date of by-election to one assembly seat each in Badharghat of Tripura, Hamirpur of Uttar Pradesh, Dantewada of Chhattisgarh and Pala of Kerala on September 23 this year.

The notification for the by-election would be issued on August 28 and counting will be held on September 27, said principal secretary of ECI, Sumit Mukhapadhyay, in a press communique on Sunday.

Also Read: 2 Tripura girls rescued from Haryana, probe on to nab traffickers

While the last date of filing nomination papers is September 4, scrutiny will be done on September 5. The last date of withdrawal of nomination papers is September 7. The model code of conduct will be enforced in the respective district of the assembly constituency, he added.

In Tripura, Badharghat (SC-reserved) assembly constituency fell vacant after the sudden demise of BJP MLA Dilip Sarkar on April 1 this year.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment