Agartala: The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has swept the three-tier Panchayat elections, the results of which were declared for all the seats that went to polls on Thursday.

Speaking with EastMojo, State Election Commission (SEC) secretary Prasenjit Bhattacharya said, “The counting of three-tier panchayat polls had started since 8 am on Wednesday and continued till the wee hours on Thursday across 31 counting halls across the state.”

Of the total 833 seats of Gram Panchayat that went to polls, the ruling BJP won in 638, CPI(M) won in 22, while Congress won in 158, IPFT in six and independents in nine seats. In Zilla Parishad, out of 79 seats, BJP won 77 and Congress two and in Panchayat Samiti, among the 82 seats, BJP won 74, CPI-M won one and Congress six seats, the secretary said.

Additional Inspector General of Police (Law and Order) Subrata Chakraborty said, “No major incident has been reported so far except in one place at Kailasahar in Unakoti district, since there was a gathering of both BJP and Congress supporters. We deployed forces and resorted to mild lathicharge to disperse the crowd. We imposed Section 144 there.”

Polling was announced in 6,111 seats of 591 Gram Panchayats, 419 seats of Panchayat Samities and 116 seats in eight Zilla Parishad bodies of Tripura this year. However, polls was held in 833 seats of Gram Panchayats, 82 seats of Panchayat Samiti and 79 seats of Zilla Parishad bodies as the others went uncontested.

As per latest reports, 76.63% voter turnout was recorded in the seats that underwent polling.

Voting was held in ballot papers, in white colour for Gram Panchayat, pink colour for Panchayat Samiti and green colour for Zilla Parishad.

Altogether, 12,03,070 voters, including 6,16,893 male and 5,86,176 women, exercised their franchise at 1,848 polling stations between 7 am and 4 pm on on July 27.

CPI(M) state committee member Pabitra Kar said, “There was no election in the state. Communist party supporters were barred from voting in many places and polling booths were captured in many booths. Polling agents were not allowed to join their duty stations. We are in the second position in almost all the seats. Except in one seat where Congress has won.”

He also said the Left Front has submitted a memorandum to director-general in-charge Rajiv Singh to ensure a smooth, free and fair counting process.

Tripura Pradesh Congress spokesperson Harekrishna Bhowmik said, “We are happy with our performance in the panchayat poll. After losing in Lok Sabha poll, on being able to perform in this way we are confident enough that in the coming days Congress will give a tough fight to the ruling BJP.”

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply