Tripura state election commissioner GK Rao (middle) with IGP Puneet Rastogi (right) and Prasenjit Bhattacharya holding a press conference on Wednesday evening Credit: EastMojo image

Agartala: The state election commission of Tripura on Wednesday announced that the three-tier Panchayat elections will be held on July 27.

Addressing a press conference, state election commissioner GK Rao said that elections will be held for 6111 Gram Panchayats, 419 Panchayat Samitis and 116 Zilla Parishads.

Nominations can be filed from July 1 to July 8, followed by scrutiny of nominations on July 9. The last date for withdrawal of candidatures is July 11. The polls will take place between 8 am to 4 pm and the counting of polls will be done on July 31 from 8 am onwards. The process of elections will be completed before August 5.

The district magistrates and collectors of all the eight districts of the state have been appointed as district election officers to supervise all works in their districts and in the areas within their jurisdiction in connection with preparation of electoral rolls and conduct of elections.

The block development officers of all the 35 blocks have been appointed as election registration officer (ERO) for preparation of electoral rolls of the Zilla Parishad, Panchayat Samiti and Gram Panchayat constituencies. The district magistrates of all the eight districts of the state have been appointed as returning officers (RO) for conduct of elections in Zilla Parishads.

Also Read: Tripura chess prodigy Arshiya Das brings glory to India

Altogether, 12,03,070 voters including 61,68,93 males and 58,61,76 females, are eligible to exercise their franchise in 2,623 polling stations between 7 am and 4 pm on July 27, Rao said.

Meanwhile, Inspector General of Police Puneet Rastogi, who was also present at the press conference, said that the state election commission and the police department held a meeting on June 24 in which the law and order situation was discussed for the peaceful conduct of elections.

Altogether, 12,000 Tripura police personnel will be deployed in the state during the three-tier panchayat elections. In addition to that, 18 companies of the BSF and 39 platoons of the CRPF are likely to be deployed during the election process.

Earlier In 2018, after the BJP-IPFT government formed, by-polls were held in 3,207 gram panchayats, 161 panchayat samitis and 18 zilla parishads, which comprise 52% of the total seats and when over 7,85,321 voters exercise their franchise on October 3 last year. The saffron party won in over 96% of seats without getting into the contest.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment