Arunachal Pradesh CM Pema Khandu (left) with newly-elected Speaker Pasang Dorjee Sona Credit: Twitter

Itanagar: Pasang Dorjee Sona, the BJP MLA from Mechuka Assembly constituency, and Tesam Pongte, the BJP MLA from Changlang South Assembly constituency, were unanimously elected as the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly, respectively, on the second day of the first session of the Seventh Legislative Assembly on Tuesday.

Both the BJP legislators had filed their nomination papers at the office of pro-tem Speaker Phosum Khimhun in the legislative assembly on Monday. They were accompanied by chief minister Pema Khandu, deputy chief minister Chowna Mein and other ministers and MLAs.

Sona, a law graduate, was elected from the Mechuka constituency in the 2009 Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly election, standing as a Peoples’ Party of Arunachal candidate. He was one of the six MLAs along with CM Khandu to be suspended by the PPA for anti-party activities.

Also Read: Arunachal: New Pema Khandu govt to revamp education, law & order

Pongte was elected from the Changlang North constituency in the 2014 Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly election, standing as a BJP candidate.

Tesam Pongte, who was elected unopposed as the deputy speaker of Arunachal Pradesh legislative assembly on Tuesday

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply