Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP)‘s Tokheho Yepthomi Credit: Facebook

Kohima: In what can be stated as one of the closest battles for the lone Lok Sabha seat in the history of Nagaland, Tokheho Yepthomi of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) was declared victorious by a close margin of 16,344 votes over former CM and Congress candidate KL Chishi.

While the CM Neiphiu Rio-led People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) consensus candidate began the day on a safe lead on counting day on Thursday, he began to trail by 6,632 votes around 12:45 pm.

Later in the evening, around 6:27 pm, Yepthomi began to lead the chart again by 166 votes after which he maintained his pace to secure a total of 50,0510 votes, out of which 827 were postal ballots.

According to M Patton, commissioner and returning officer (RO), Congress’ Chishi secured 4,84,166 with 2,251 postal ballots. While National People’s Party candidate Hayithung Tungoe secured 14997 votes, including 778 postal ballots, independent candidate Dr MM Thromwa bagged 4,620 votes, of which 304 were postal ballots. Up to 1,080 were rejected votes.

At a press conference later in the evening, Patton said that this was the provisional result to the Parliamentary seat from the state as three districts, namely Mon, Mokokchung and Zunheboto, were yet to submit the details from their constituencies. He affirmed that the final figures will not be of much difference in comparison to the provisional ones.

Also Read: Nagaland LIVE | Lok Sabha election results 2019

In the recent election, out of the total 12,13,777 voters in the state, 10,02,670 exercised their franchise in the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections on April 11.

Immediately after the results were announced, NDPP secretary Abu Metha tweeted: “Thank you #Nagaland 4 reposing faith on the @NDPPofficial and PDA leader @Neiphiu_Rio. We are humbled by your support. The people & the electorate are the real winners. The close contest has made democracy triumphant. We rededicate ourselves to serve. #FactaNonVerba.”

Taking to twitter, CM Rio too congratulated the NDPP leader for the win. “Congratulations, Tokheho Yepthomi consensus candidate of People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) and sitting Lok Sabha MP from Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party @NDPPofficial on winning #LokSabhaElections2019 Thank you people of #Nagaland for reposing your faith on us again,” he tweeted.

Meanwhile, Nagaland Congress Pradesh Committee (NPCC) through a press communique thanked all citizens and voters and further congratulated Yepthomi for the success.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply