PM Narendra Modi West Bengal elections
File image of Prime Minister Narendra Modi Credit: EastMojo Image

Guwahati: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) made a clean sweep across the Northeast pocketing 14 of the 25 Parliamentary constituencies despite the threat of Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016 looming large.

Gaining two seats compared to 2014 elections in Assam, the saffron party won nine constituencies against the 10 in which it contested. Its allies, the Bodo Peoples’ Front (BPF) and Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) contested in one and three seats, respectively, but failed to open accounts.

One of the biggest wins for the BJP from the state is the Silchar Parliamentary constituency, where Rajdeep Roy beat Congress’ Sushmita Dev by a margin of 81,596 votes. Dev, the president of All India Mahila Congress (AIMC) and sitting MP from Silchar, was the Congress’ seasoned politician and a sure-shot win from the region.

While the BJP won 14 seats, Congress won 4 in the Northeast

Elsewhere in Assam, BJP’s Queen Oja won the prestigious Gauhati seat with a massive margin of over 3 lakh votes against Congress’ Bobbeeta Sharma. The seat is a BJP stronghold, where the party has won for the third consecutive term.

In the Autonomous District (Diphu), Dibrugarh, Jorhat, Karimganj, Lakhimpur, Mangaldoi, and Tezpur constituencies, the BJP has consolidated its hold, showing that no matter what, the Modi wave continues to hold fort.

The Congress won three constituencies with Gaurav Gogoi in Kaliabor, Abdul Khaleque in Barpeta and Pradyut Bordoloi in Nowgong with the thinnest margin in the state of 16,572 votes. While the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) won in Dhubri, independent candidate Naba Kumar Sarania bagged the Kokrajhar seat for the second consecutive term.

In the border state of Arunachal Pradesh, the BJP won both the Lok Sabha seats with minster of state for home Kiren Rijiju emerging victorious for the second term from Arunachal West constituency and state BJP president Tapir Gao bagging Arunachal East.

The hill state of Manipur gave BJP another win at the Inner Manipur constituency, while the Outer Manipur seat was pocketed by its coalition partner Naga Peoples Front’s Lorho S Pfoze by a margin of over 70,000 votes. Both the seats were earlier held by the Congress.

In Meghalaya, the Congress retained the Shillong constituency with sitting MP Vincent H Pala winning by a margin of 1,52,433 votes. The vacant Tura seat went back to the National People’s Party with late MP PA Sangma’s daughter and Meghalaya CM Conrad K Sangma’s sister Agatha K Sangma triumphing over the mandate.

In Mizoram, Nagaland and Sikkim, the lone seats went to C Lalrosanga of Mizo National Front, Tokheho Yepthomi of Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party and Indra Hang Subba of Sikkim Krantikari Morcha, respectively.

Also Read: Nagaland: Sitting MP Tokheho Yepthomi retains lone LS seat

Tripura saw the fall of the remaining Left leaders in the state as the BJP swayed over both the Tripura East and Tripura West parliamentary constituencies with a margin of over 2 lakh and over 3 lakh votes, respectively.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply