Exit poll results were published on Sunday evening Credit: EastMojo image

Aizawl: Most exit poll results, which were published on Sunday evening, predicted that the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM)-Congress combine will win Mizoram’s lone Lok Sabha seat.

In the double exit poll results published by Republic TV, while C-Voter projected ZPM-Congress alliance’s success, Jan Ki Baat said Mizo National Front (MNF) is likely to win the seat. Other exit polls including India Today also predicted ZPM-Congress combine’s victory.

Chief minister and MNF president Zoramthanga expressed confidence that his party would win Mizoram polls and the NDA at the Centre.

Former CM and state Congress president Lal Thanhawla expressed high hope that the ZPM-Congress combine will emerge victorious. “As far as Mizoram is concerned, the exit poll result will turn correct. I am fully confident that we will win the Lok Sabha polls,” he said.

The Congress leader, however, did not believe the overall exit poll results that predicted majority for the BJP-led NDA. “Though exit poll results sometime turned to be right, they are mere assumptions. We can’t totally bank on them,” he said. He expressed hope that the UPA would come to power at the centre.

Congress spokesperson Lallianchhunga also said that exit poll may not reflect the exact figure though they are reflecting the trend sometimes.

He hoped that ZPM-Congress combine will win the Lok Sabha polls.

Also Read: Poll results: 1,300 officials to be deployed in Mizoram on May 23

Most exit polls released on Sunday gave NDA a thumping majority with BJP crossing the half-way mark on its own to repeat its 2014 landslide victory. In the northeast the BJP is likely to win 18 out 25 seats.

Election to Mizoram’s lone Lok Sabha seat was held simultaneously with assembly by-election to Aizawl West-I seat on April 11, when the country went for the first round of polling.

63 per cent of voters out of the total over 7.8 lakh electorates, including 4,04,169 female voters and 5 third gender voters casted their votes to decide the fate of six candidates.

The ruling MNF had fielded former Doordarshan director general C Lalrosanga, while sports journalist Lalnghinglova Hmar contested on behalf of the ZPM-Congress combined.

The BJP projected its vice president Nirupam Chakma and the newly floated People’s Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM) fielded former sailor TBC Lalvenchhunga. Two independent candidates Lalhriatrenga Chhangte and Lalthlamuani have also contested the polls.

They key contest was between MNF and ZPM-Congress combine.

Mizoram has only one Lok Sabha seat which is reserved for the scheduled tribe category. CL Ruala of Congress is the sitting MP from the state. He had also won the 2009 Lok Sabha polls.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment