Of the 141 accredited journalists, 60 are from Aizawl district, 19 from Lunglei, 13 from Champhai, 12 each from Siaha and Kolasib, 10 from Serchhip, eight from Lawngtlai and seven from Mamit

Aizawl: There are a total of 141 accredited journalists in the whole of Mizoram, working in different media houses.

An official release said on Wednesday that the press accreditation committee of the state government, which met on March 7, selected 141 journalists from different parts of the state to be awarded accreditation.

Of the 141 journalists, 60 are from Aizawl district, 19 from Lunglei district, 13 from Champhai district, 12 each from Siaha and Kolasib districts, 10 from Serchhip district, eight from Lawngtlai district and seven from Mamit district, the released said.

The state government on Wednesday distributed press accreditation cards to the selected journalists in a function held at the Information and Public Relations (I&PR) department auditorium in Aizawl.

Also Read: Mizoram Synod Choir wins big in International Choral Festival

The event was graced by I&PR secretary and press accreditation committee chairman Sangdingliana.

Speaking on the occasion, Sangdingliana congratulated the scribes for being awarded accreditation. He urged them to remember the importance of media in shaping the public opinion and helping the government for good governance.

The event, attended by a sizeable number of media and officials, was also addressed by I&PR director and press accreditation committee secretary David L Thangliana and Mizoram Journalists’ Association (MJA) president Zonunsanga Khiangte.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment