A large number of early-bird voters turned up to exercise their franchise in Manipur on Thursday

Imphal: The stage is all set for the second phase polling of Lok Sabha elections in Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency on Thursday, with a large number of early-bird voters turning up to exercise their franchise.

A total of 11 candidates, including four independent, are contesting for the Inner Manipur parliamentary seat whose fate will be decided by a total of 9,28,626 voters, including 4,47,843 males, 4,80,751 females and 32 third gender voters. They will cast their ballots across 1,300 polling stations falling under four districts of the state.

The candidates who are contesting from the Inner Manipur Parliamentary seat are Dr RK Ranjan of Bharatiya Janata Party, O Nabakishore of Congress, Dr M Nara of Communist Party India, G Tonsana of Manipur Democratic People’s Front, S Nandeshore of Rashtriya Janhit Sangarsh Party, RK Anand of North East India Development Party (NEIDP), O Jugindro of Manipur People’s Party; and RK Somorendro, M Tomtomsana, W Pobitro Singh, Md Iliyash Khan — all contesting as independent.

Meanwhile, security arrangements have been beefed up in the constituency with 40 companies of Central Armed Police Forces deployed in all polling booths including 56 critical, 54 vulnerable, 35 model and 95 all-women managed polling stations at 984 locations in the four districts of the state.

In a move of encouraging and celebrating the festival of democracy, the election department of the state this time has decided to give key chains and badges to first 50 voters and first-time voters, respectively, at every polling station in the state.

A few moments ago, Manipur governor Najma Heptulla was seen standing in queue at a polling station in Imphal to cast her vote.

Manipur governor Najma Heptulla standing in a queue to cast her vote

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment