The seven NPF leaders who extended their support to ruling PDA’s consensus Lok Sabha candidate in recently concluded Parliamentary polls.

Kohima: The Naga People’s Front (NPF) has suspended seven of their legislators from the party on Tuesday for alleged anti-party activities. The decision came following the legislators refusing to support the NPF-Congress alliance in the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections in the state on April 11.

However, regarding the party whip, the NPF said, “The suspended legislators will be bound by the whip of the NPF on the floor of Nagaland Legislative Assembly as per the existing laws and judicial decisions of the honourable Apex Court.”

NPF president Dr Shürhozelie Leizietsu on Tuesday issued two separate suspension orders to seven of its legislators stating that the Disciplinary Action Committee (DAC) of the party had recommended for the suspension of their membership from the party “after meticulously examining” their “reply” to the show-cause notices served to them.

The party further accused the legislators of avoiding NPF legislature party meetings since March 25 without showing valid reasons. “Even after serving the show-cause notice, their association with the [CM Neiphiu] Rio-led People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) continued and that as per the party’s post election report, they had wholeheartedly supported and voted in favour of the PDA consensus candidate. Therefore, such conduct amounts to voluntarily giving up the membership of the NPF which cannot be condoned,” a party statement stated.

The seven legislators, namely N Thongwang Konyak, Eshak Konyak, EE Pangteang, BS Nganglang, Toyang Chang, Kejong Chang and CL John, had declared their support to the PDA consensus candidate on March 25.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment